Bio | Repertoire | Gena Branscombe Project | Gena & Emily Revealed | Scrapbook | Recordings | Press & Media | Contact | Blog | Home


"Ah! Love, I Shall Find Thee: Songs of Gena Branscombe"

CD Cover Art
Purchase the
Audio CD

Sung by Kathleen Shimeta, mezzo-soprano
with Martin Hennessy, piano

Enjoy the enchanting and romantic songs of composer, Gena Branscombe! The 25 songs recorded include settings of six poems from The Sonnets from the Portuguese, one of which is the beautiful How do I love thee? and settings of the Robert Browning poems Serenade and The Best is Yet to Be. Expressive of Gena’s dedication to her family, we have recorded four loving children's songs, Glück dedicated to her husband, and I Bring You Heartsease for her mother.

Ever patriotic, Branscombe wrote Dear Lad o'Mine to commemorate her country’s involvement in World War I.  Collaborating with fellow Canadian and poet Arthur Stringer, the two artists co-wrote Blow Softly Maple Leaves.  The thrilling aria Ah! Love, I Shall Find Thee from Gena Branscombe’s opera, The Bells of Circumstance, will win your hearts!

Read what reviewers are saying about Ah! Love, I Shall Find Thee

Track Listing

Listening to track previews requires Real Player

1. Serenade
2. Enchantment
3. Sleep, Then, Ah Sleep
4. Ould Doctor Ma’Ginn
5. Hail Ye Tyme of Holiedayes

Love in a Life *
6. I thought once how Theocritus
7. But only three in all God’s universe
8. How Do I Love Thee?
9. The widest land doom
10. The face of all the world is changed
11. My own beloved

12. Sprightly Mrs. Grasshopper
13. Glück
14. I Bring You Heartsease
15. Over Dreaming Children
16. On Green and Grassy Hillside
17. Ah! Love, I Shall Find Thee

Four Piano Pieces
18. Hill Top Dreaming
19. A Woodsy Nymph Came Dancing
20. A Norwegian Song
21. One Sunny Day in Naples

A Lute of Jade *
22. A Lovely Maiden Roaming
23. My Fatherland
24. There was a King of Liang
25. Fair is the Pine Grove

26. Dear Lad O’Mine
27. Blow Softly Maple Leaves
28. The Best is Yet to Be

(*) Denotes that works are published by Recital Publications

CD Cover Art-Click for Purchase Information

Audio CD: "Ah! Love, I Shall Find Thee:
Songs of Gena Branscombe"

Enjoy the enchanting and romantic songs of composer Gena Branscombe on CD with 25 songs sung by mezzo-soprano Kathleen Shimeta in partnership with Martin Hennessy on piano.

CD Purchase Information
Sample Track: Ah! Love, I Shall Find Thee (0:48 seconds)
Requires Real Player

For more information contact me.

Kathleen Shimeta's Music Meets Drama Blog   Find Kathleen Shimeta on Facebook